NEBOSH General Certificate - New Syllabus Explained

NEBOSH General Certificate - New Syllabus Explained

New Syllabus NEBOSH National General Certificate

The NEBOSH National General Certificate is based on UK law and is the most widely recognised and requested qualification in health and safety by employers. The new syllabus is now reduced the NEBOSH National General Certificate from three modules to two. The NEBOSH Construction, Fire and Environmental Qualifications remain as they were, however the NG1 is the foundation module. Both the NG1 and NG2 Modules must be successfully completed in order within five years to achieve the NEBOSH National General Certificate qualification.

RISK is able to deliver the NEBOSH General Certificate remotely online, with tutor led video conference training and with the new remote online Open Book Exam.  The NEBOSH General Certificate is the foundation to the NEBOSH Construction Certificate and NEBOSH Fire Certificate. Follow the links below to find out more about how this is taught and assessed.


NEBOSH General Certificate NG1 Module Remote Online Courses

NEBOSH General Certificate NG2 Module Remote Online Courses

What happens if you already have taken modules from the old syllabus?

The easiest thing is to email or call us, if you have been successful, or need to take a re-take under the RISK NEBOSH Pass Support Scheme, we can sort you out. There’s some extra paperwork to complete, but don’t worry – we take care of this and can quickly advise on your best route to achieve the NEBOSH qualification you need.

Unit NG1: Management of Health and Safety

  • Why we should manage workplace health and safety
  • How health and safety management systems work and what they look like
  • Managing risk - understanding people and processes
  • Health and safety monitoring and measuring

Unit NG2: Risk Assessment

  • Physical and psychological health
  • Musculoskeletal health
  • Chemical and biological agents
  • General workplace issues
  • Work equipment
  • Fire
  • Electricity


  • Unit NG1 is assessed by a two-hour written examination
  • Unit NG2 is assessed by a three hour practical assessment carried out in your workplace (or another suitable workplace)

Open exams are held in March, June, September and December each year - however RISK typically run a module and an exam in unison to ensure the knowledge is fresh and delegates have the maximum opportunity of passing.

< back